"To Know and Delight Ourselves in Christ,
Proclaiming His Supremacy"

2100 E. Cross Ave.
[email protected]



About EFCA


The Evangelical Free Church of America (EFCA) is an association of over 1500 churches united by a mutual commitment to serve our Lord Jesus Christ with the guidance of the Holy Spirit and obedience to the Word of God. The EFCA has 17 regional district divisions and our church belongs to EFCA West. Approximately 200 churches and church plants presently make up our district, which encompasses central and southern California, Arizona, New Mexico, and Utah plus southern Idaho, southern Nevada and the El Paso area of Texas.

The Evangelical Free Church of America began in the Scandinavian countries of Sweden, Norway and Denmark. Its religious and philosophical roots are firmly planted in the 16th century Protestant reformation and mid-19th century cross roots movement to break away from established state controlled churches. In 1884, the Swedish group formally began in America, in Boone, Iowa, while at the same time the Norwegian Danish group began to worship and fellowship together in Boston, Massachusetts and Tacoma, Washington. In June of 1950 near Minneapolis, Minnesota, the two associations joined together and formed the Evangelical Free Church of America. The National and international offices of the EFCA have been located in Minneapolis since that time. Although the Free Church has since lost its Scandinavian flavor it is still committed to its same passion and vision: fulfilling the Great Commission.

The term Evangelical refers to our commitment to the proclamation of the Gospel and to the authority of the Scriptures as the only safe and sufficient guide to faith and practice.

The term Free refers to the autonomy of local churches, as well as to a congregational form of government.

The growing ministry of the EFCA currently extends to 17 other nations encompassing nearly 1,000 additional congregations.

The uniting principle of the Evangelical Free Church of America is in our doctrinal position that is summarized in a ten point Statement of Faith.